Batch Editor

The Picturepark Batch Editor enables you to quickly and easily update Content and List items. There is a limit of 100,000 items at a time both for list and content items.

Contents

Users can batch add, edit and remove Layers, Virtual Items, Permissions and Owners by:

  • clicking on edit all in the toolbar

  • right clicking on a content and selecting the edit menu item in the context menu

  • right clicking on a content and selecting the edit menu item in the context menu

  • clicking on the edit icon in the notifications.

A Collection is created for ease of use whenever you edit more than one Content in the UI. You require manage content Permissions in order to use the Batch editor as well as corresponding permissions on the content items you are editing. These Collections can be seen in the Menu under Collections and can be reopened.

  • The fields on the layer have to be indexed or the batch editor will display a note letting you know that "This field is not indexed. Please use single edit"

  • Single and multi relationship fields, single and multi fieldsets and geopoints cannot be batch edited.This means that these fields cannot be part of a list or layer that you batch edit if they are required as the validation will fail. Support for these fields in single edit mode of the batch editor is scheduled for future next release

  • You will not see fields with calculated values in the batch editor as these cannot be edited.

  • Translations in the batch editor are not visible in View mode.

  • It can currently happen that the thumbnails change size and are displayed smaller, with a white border during batch editing.

Layers

You can add a layer by clicking on the "Add layer" button.

  • Any Layers already assigned to your content will also display in this tab.

  • It is possible to edit multiple layers at once as long as they apply to all of your content (i.e content that has the File Type "Image").

  • The batch editor will filter the content that a layer applies to automatically if you start editing that layer. Those contents that the layer does not apply to will be grayed out. You will also see a list of contents and how many of these are editable in the top left of the batch edit area.

  • You can select a single content item in the batch editor via single click to edit if you would like. Double click opens the single edit for that item. Either closing the single edit with the X or the browser back button will bring you back into the batch edit.

  • The default behavior for tagboxes when adding a new layer is now Add. In previous versions this used to be Overwrite. If you then kept working after adding a layer it kept overwrite as default. So you might have overwritten the data you just added. Now when you add a Layer it's always default Add (cannot be changed) - once saved the Editor can change between Add/Overwrite/Remove.

The following options are available in the layer toolbar when you are assigning layers.

  • Apply to all - Clicking on this icon will apply the changes in the layer to your applicable content, meaning where the Layer is available for example.

  • Filter out Schema - this button will filter for all contents that do not have the layer that you are filtering on applied to them.

  • Filter by Schema - this button will filter for all contents that have the layer that you are filtering on applied to them. If none of your contents have the filter saved on them yet then clicking filter by schema will return no content items.

  • Unassign - remove the layer

You can also filter on the applied values in a field by selecting these.

Fields that are required will be marked with an asterisk. These need to be filled out before you can save. If the focus is moved from a required field it will be outlined in red until it is filled out.

The number of contents you are editing is always shown behind the layer name and next to the save button.

If you have not touched a field then it will not overwrite any values. If you click into a field and then save an empty value will be saved.

Virtual Items

If one or more Virtual content items is present in your batch edit selection then you will be able to edit the fields attached to each virtual content item here. The layers attached to the virtual content item can be edited in Layers. If virtual content items have the same layers assigned as file content items then you can edit the same layer for both virtual and file content items at once.

Permissions

You can add permission sets by clicking on the "Add permission sets" button. The following options are available in the permissions toolbar next to each permission:

  • Apply to all - if the permission set is not already applied to all the contents in the batch editor area then you will have this option next to it.

  • Remove - you can remove the permission set from all the content items in the batch editor

Owner

You can transfer ownership of the content items by clicking on the "Transfer" button. Please note that only those users that have the Manage Contents User Role Permission will display in this list. It is possible to search for users.

Multi Tagbox fields

Multi tagbox fields will give you the following options:

  • Add - adds the list items you select in the batch editor for the field to the tagbox field. Existing entries remain.

  • Overwrite - Overwrites what is currently in the field with the list items you currently selected in the batch editor. Existing entries are removed.

  • Remove - Removes the list items you currently selected from the tagbox field and leave other entries in the field as is.

Sorting

You can sort the items you have in your batch edit window by clicking on the sort images/download/thumbnails/12419736/sort-descending.png icon. The default sort order is Date created Descending. This cannot be configured in this version of Picturepark and will be reset each time you use the batch editor.

Display

You can click on the thumbnail icon if you would like to display a different thumbnail size in your batch editor window. The default is Thumbnail Small. This cannot be configured in this version of Picturepark and will be reset each time you use the batch editor.

Undo Button

The undo button images/download/thumbnails/12419736/undo-variant.png works to undo active changes before saving.

Colored Titles and Information Messages

  • Green titles show you that you are only adding new information to contents. You can select the "Do not show confirmation message" for green information messages. If you do so a cookie will be set for your current browser and these messages will not be shown anymore while that cookie is set.

  • Orange titles show you that you are overwriting information on contents. These confirmation messages cannot be clicked away.

  • Red titles show you that you are deleting information from content items. These confirmation messages cannot be clicked away.

  • Permissions will never have a red title as you cannot delete them from the batch editor you can only remove them from a content item.

Notifications

The notifications will let you know once the changes you have made with the batch edit have been completed. If the changes take longer than 10 seconds you will also get a notification that the batch edit will take longer and will keep on working in the back ground. User will get a notification once done.

Lists

Users with the correct permissions can batch edit List items either by clicking on the edit all icon or by selecting those they wish to edit and clicking on the edit icon.

Collections are not created for lists.

In the List Batch Editor you will only see one Tab called Metadata.

If you, for example, filtered on your list for Product Family "Watch" with State "Active" then opened the batch edit and you are changing the State from Active to "Hide" then your list items will disappear in the batch edit after save. This is because the filter "Watch" with State "Active" is not relevant anymore.